[Review] The Body on the Shore by Nick Louth

The Body on the Shore Book Cover The Body on the Shore
DCI Craig Gillard Series
Nick Louth
Mystery & Thriller
03 Sep 2018
e-book

A killer is at work in the supposedly-safe commuter belt.  DCI Gillard needs answers, fast...

Promising architect Peter Young is shot dead at his desk. DCI Craig Gillard is quickly on the scene, looking at what appears to be a brutal and highly professional hit: two bullets, fired with ice-cold calm.

Gillard knows that the most crucial question in solving the crime is one word: Why? Two weeks later, on the Lincolnshire coast, another body is found on a windswept beach. In this case there is no identity for the young man, just a curious brand burned into his neck….

As the mystery deepens Gillard is plunged into a case without answers, finding himself up against dark forces, people who believe in only two things: blood and a warped code of honour. This time lives are on the line, children's lives - and his own.

Written at breakneck pace with a jaw-dropping twist you won’t see coming, the suspense-filled second DCI Gillard crime thriller is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Faith Martin.

#review The Body on the Shore by @NickLouthAuthor
#netgalley @netgalley

 

I didn’t realise that this bool is the second book in the DCI Gillard series but it was easily read as a stand-alone characters’ backstories are filled in just the right amount.

This is also my first time reading this author and I have to say I am hooked. I have been reading a lot of police procedural stories based in the US so it was nice refreshing change to read one that was relatable based in the UK.

It all starts with a murder – don’t they all? A young architect has been shot in his office and there seems to be no actual motive as to why he was targeted. Gillard soon discovers that the dead man Peter, was in fact a refugee from Kosovo who arrived in Britain aged 15 years. His case seems to hit a dead end (no pun intended) until Gillard is called onto a missing persons case – could these two cases be connected? He finds himself travelling to Albania in search of the truth.

This was a great read and I loved the characters and Nick Louth’s style, cant wait to read more from him.

Thanks to Netgalley for the chance to read this book.

 

Purchase Links

Fiona

I am Fee, a 30 -something SAHM bookworm! I love to read, and will read almost anything and everything. I am not afraid to try new genres of books and my main genre is horror, thriller.