The Story Collector by Evie Gaughan Part of the #UrbaneExtravaganza #Lovebooksgrouptours

#Celebrating @UrbaneBooks #2018Publications with #LoveBooksGroupTours  #UrbaneExtravaganza  #UrbaneChristmasBonanza

Welcome to my stop on the Love Books Group Tour for the Urbane Publications Extravaganza!

The Story Collector
by Evie Gaughan

A beautiful and mysterious historical romance from the author of The Heirloom and The Mysterious Bakery on Rue de Paris. Thornwood Village, 1910. Anna, a young farm girl, volunteers to help an intriguing American visitor, Harold Griffin-Krauss, translate ‘fairy stories’ from Irish to English. But all is not as it seems and Anna soon finds herself at the heart of a mystery that threatens the future of her community and her very way of life….. Captivated by the land of myth, folklore and superstition, Sarah Harper finds herself walking in the footsteps of Harold and Anna one hundred years later, unearthing dark secrets that both enchant and unnerve. The Story Collector treads the intriguing line between the everyday and the otherworldly, the seen and the unseen. With a taste for the magical in everyday life, Evie Gaughan’s latest novel is full of ordinary characters with extraordinary tales to tell. Perfect for fans of Jess Kidd and Eowyn Ivey.

 

Buy Link:
Amazon | Amazon Kindle

 

Excerpt:

Chapter 1

25th December 2010
New York

Were it not for that tacky ceramic sheep in the gift shop,
Sarah would never have even heard of Thornwood, much
less got on a plane to Ireland and spent Christmas there.
‘Have you got everything you need?’ Jack had finally asked,
after an hour of silently watching her reclaim all her worldly
possessions.
‘Um, yes I think that’s it,’ Sarah said, looking about her at all
the empty spaces she was leaving behind. Most of her belongings
were already shipped and boxed in suspended animation in a
Massachusetts storage unit. ‘Well at least now you can have that
snooker table you always wanted in here,’ she added, trying to
sound cheery, but regretting it as soon as she heard it out loud.
‘I’m sorry, I didn’t mean—’
‘It’s okay,’ he said, touching her lightly on the arm and giving
her a crooked smile. ‘I don’t know what to say either, but you don’t
have to pretend, Sarah.’
The easiest thing would have been to fall into his arms and bury
her pain somewhere neither of them could find it, but she’d tried
that already and two years later, it still wasn’t working. They were
living in a house of unspoken needs and muffled emotions.
‘Are you sure you want to leave today? I mean, it is Christmas
after all,’ he said, nodding towards the lacklustre tree that blinked
optimistically in the corner. ‘You could wait till New Year’s…’
‘What difference does it make, really? We’d just be delaying
the inevitable. I have to leave now or I never will. Besides, your
family’s expecting you for the big Natale Zaparelli, so you better
get a move on too.’
He exhaled a long and weary sigh, stuffing his hands in his
pockets. Sarah wondered bitterly what bothered him more: her
absence from the Zaparelli family Christmas or him having to
explain it.
‘I wish it didn’t have to be like this.’ Jack shifted from one foot to
the other. He didn’t know where to place himself and finally, like
an unwanted object in his gallery, he leaned against the nearest
wall.
‘Come on Jack, it’s taking all of my strength to do this. Please
don’t go soft on me now or I might just crack,’ Sarah said, reaching
for her purse and coat.
‘All right then, beat it lady and don’t let the door hit you on the
way out! Better?’ he asked, with a half smile.
‘Much.’ She hugged him, briefly but fiercely and turned on her
heel, dragging her suitcase behind her. ‘I’ll call to let you know I’ve
landed safely,’ she called behind her.
‘Maybe just a text message,’ he said, adding in almost a whisper,
‘I don’t trust myself not to beg you to come back.’

 

This is just a small excerpt from Chapter 1 and already I cant wait to read more!

About the Author:
Evie Gaughan is a writer and artist living in Galway City, beside the sea. Her books are a mix of genres, incorporating her love of history and a penchant for magic in the everyday.
The Heirloom is Evie’s debut novel and is a time-slip epic set in Ireland during medieval times, with a parallel story in the present day. Her second novel, The Mysterious Bakery On Rue De Paris is a magical tale set in France, with a heart-warming cast of characters.
Her upcoming novel, The Story Collector, is due for release in Autumn 2018 with Urbane Publications.

 

 

 

 

Fiona

I am Fee, a 30 -something SAHM bookworm! I love to read, and will read almost anything and everything. I am not afraid to try new genres of books and my main genre is horror, thriller.

%d bloggers like this: