#BlogTour Life Lessons by J.E. Rowney

#OnTour with #RachelsRandomResources
#Excerpt Life Lessons by Je Rowney
@rararesources @jerowneywriter

 

 

Life Lessons

For fans of “Call the Midwife”, “Hard Pushed” or “This is Going to Hurt”.

Life Lessons is a new adult chick-lit medical drama, with splashes of clean romance.
Expect an unputdownable emotional page-turner that will take you deep into the life lessons of a student midwife.

Violet wants to be a midwife, but she has struggled with anxiety throughout her teenage years.

With her best friend Zoe at her side, she gets a place at University and starts training for her dream job.

Can she overcome her fears and find the self-confidence to make it through her first year?

Will Zoe’s romance with their housemate spell dating disaster?

Book one of the Lessons of a Student Midwife series.

This book is a prequel to Ghosted, the bestselling novel.

 

Purchase Links –
http://mybook.to/lifelessons

 

EXCERPT

Violet has overcome many obstacles to get her place at University. Ahead of her lie three years of hard work and an ongoing battle with her anxiety. Fortunately, her best friend Zoe will be by her side, helping her through every step of the way.

When Violet and Zoe have finished unpacking in their new home, they are about to head for a night out, when they (literally) run into their new housemate.

Enjoy this extract from “Life Lessons” by J.E. Rowney. Chick lit with a medical theme.

 

Zoe pulls open the front door and thuds directly into a tall, dark, and rather scruffy male.

“I’m sorry -”

He smiles, and she stops talking. She’s standing with her mouth open, and I give her a subtle prod and shake my head.

“Zoe, be cool,” I whisper into her ear.

She clears her throat.

“Can I help you?” she says in the most put-on accent I have ever heard her use. This is the face-to-face equivalent of her telephone voice.

The man tilts his head, looks at her, and then at me. I notice that he looks at her for longer, even if it is only a matter of seconds. Zoe’s earlier comment about not having time for relationships pops into my head. I shake the idea away.

“I’m Luke,” he says. He holds out his hand to her, and she looks at it.

“Zoe,” she replies. “Can I help you?” She tentatively reaches to shake hands.

“No, it’s fine, thanks. I couldn’t find anywhere to park, so I wanted to check that I could get in first.”

“Get in?”

A look of realisation passes over his face.

“I live here,” he says. “Or at least, I am just about to.”

Zoe mimes a little facepalm expression. I’m standing behind her, trying to fade into the background. She waves her hand to me and says, “This is Violet. We live here too.”

“Lovely,” he says.

There’s an awkward pause, Luke on the outside of the doorway and Zoe firmly in the entrance. She’s still staring at him. I nudge her again and she turns to me. I nod my head to the side of the door a couple of times, hoping she will catch on, and she does.

“Sorry, sorry,” she says again, and steps out of Luke’s way. “I’m an idiot. At least we have got that out of the way.”

He actually laughs, and I see Zoe’s face turn a fiery shade of red. It suits her; it blends well with her hair.

“Not at all.” He steps into the hallway and shakes my hand too.

“Nice to meet you.” I give him a mock-apologetic smile, and Zoe digs me in the ribs playfully. “We were about to head out to the union bar.” I say it as in invitation, but Luke doesn’t bite.

“I need to bring my things in, maybe unpack a little, and…” He sniffs his armpit melodramatically. “I probably need a shower.”

“There’s one on this floor. And a bath on the first. Your room will be one of the ones on the top floor I’m afraid,” Zoe says. She’s still curt and business-like.

“So, I do need a shower?” he smiles.

“I didn’t…I mean…”

“I think he’s messing with you,” I say, and Zoe facepalms again. I love this girl so much.

“Top floor is fine for me. You two bagged first floor then?”

We both nod.

“I need the exercise anyway,” he says and gently pats his stomach, which appears to be completely flat despite his intimation.

“No, you…” Zoe starts to speak and then stops herself.

“We should probably be going then,” I say, linking arms with my best friend. I need to get her out of here before she says something she might regret.

“If I finish sorting everything out, I will come and find you.” Luke gives us a nerdy salute, I nod, and Zoe tries to replicate his gesture.

“Later,” I say, pulling Zoe out of the door.

“Yeah, see you later!” Zoe echoes.

I close the door behind us and pull Zoe into a hug.

“You’re so funny,” I say, my face pressed into her.

“He seems very, er, nice,” she replies.

“Just remember that his room is on the top floor, and yours is on the middle. No getting lost in the night.”

She laughs again, and we stand there on the doorstep of our new home, collapsing in hysterics.

This is the beginning of something special, I just know it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Author Bio –

J.E.Rowney spent several years in the cold Yorkshire hills, which brings the flavour of the moorland countryside into her work. She now lives in Dorset, and the sun and sea are slowly creeping in as influences.
“Charcoal”, her first novel, was published in 2012 to wide critical acclaim, and was a bestselling novel across the whole of Amazon within days of release.

Ms Rowney has recently been awarded the Dinesh Allirajah Writing Prize 2020. Her third novel, “Ghosted”, was released in January 2020 and quickly also became a bestseller.

She spends lots of time writing in coffee shops, so if you see her, say hello.

Ms. Rowney says: “I always dreamed of being a writer, until I realised that I was. Then I started to write.”

You can find out more about JE Rowney on her website at jerowney.com, or follow @jerowneywriter on social media.

 

Social Media Links –

Website: http://jerowney.com/
Mailing list http://jerowney.com/join-me
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/jerowneywriter/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jerowneywriter/?hl=en
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jerowneywriter?lang=en
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jerowneywriter/

 

Follow the Tour:

 

Fiona

I am Fee, a 30 -something SAHM bookworm! I love to read, and will read almost anything and everything. I am not afraid to try new genres of books and my main genre is horror, thriller.

%d bloggers like this: