#Review Ghost Hunters by Susan McCauley

#OnTour with #SilverDaggerBookTours #BookTour & #Giveaway
#Review Ghost Hunters by Susan McCauley
#MiddleGrade #MG #YAHorror #YoungAdult #Horror #GhostHunters @SusanBMcCauley

Ghost Hunters: Bones in the Wall
by Susan McCauley
Genre: Middle-Grade, YA Horror
Twelve-year-old Alex may have lost his ability to play sports, but he gained the ability to see ghosts. Now he must figure out how to put an evil spirit to rest—or die trying.
Once an athlete and popular kid, Alex is in a terrible car accident that severely injures his hip and leaves him with a rare power: he can hear and see ghosts. All Alex wants is to be normal. But when a malevolent spirit begins haunting him, Alex must accept his unwanted psychic powers and work with his best friend, his paranormal investigator cousin, and two friendly spirits to solve the mystery of the bones in the wall and put the vicious ghost to rest. If he fails, he’ll lose his family and friends to a gruesome fate.
“An inventive, fast-paced tale brimming with chills, thrills, and heart. Perfect for fans of Lockwood & Co.”— Henry H. Neff, author of The Tapestry series
**On Sale for only .99 cents Feb 11th – 15th!!**
Amazon * Apple * B&N * Kobo * Books2Read
Book Trailer
https://youtu.be/ldqimcxNLsg

REVIEW

I loved Susan’s book The Devil Tree so I couldn’t wait to start reading this one. Ghost Hunters – Bones in the wall is young adult horror that is at times scary due to the spirits that twelve-year-old Alex begins to see following a car accident that kills him mother and leaves him unable to play sports again.

There is a lot in this version of our world that has happened, spirits have been released and the untouched (people who can’t see spirits) blame the Psychics for the state of things, everyone needs to have charms and sigils of protection to ward off spirits, I would have loved more on the history of all this came about, but this book had my attention from the start.

Once Alex begins to realise he can see spirits the ones he encounters first are nice and harmless but it becomes apparent to his aunt that he is a Class A Psychic (the highest there can be) when he attends a paranormal investigation with her – the spirit he encounters here is malevolent and follows Alex home.

There are several jumpy moments that will give the YA reading this goosebumps, and I for one loved them. I know this is middle grade young adult but at times you forget the characters ages especially when they are exorcising ghosts! This was a great start to the series and I can’t wait to read more of Alex and watch his psychic abilities grow with the help of his aunt.

4 stars

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Susan McCauley was born and raised on the gulf coast of Texas, not far from Houston. She spent several years in Los Angeles, California acting, writing, and teaching college English. In 2002, she moved to London to further explore professional theater. While in London, her stage adaptation of Nikolai Gogol’s “The Nose” was performed at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art’s George Bernard Shaw Theatre; and, scenes from her play The Prisoner: Princess Elizabeth were performed at HMS Tower of London. She returned to the U.S. in 2005. In 2007, she was the line producer of the Emmy Award nominated Civil War short film Now & Forever Yours: Letters to an Old Soldier. She has had short stories published in several anthologies, and her short story, “The Cask,” was made into an award winning short film.
Everyone should check-in with voice actor Maxwell Glick (who did the audiobook for Ghost Hunters). Max will be doing a giveaway (or two) on his YouTube channel (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJOsLGRR6_Y0X4LfDxBoaTg)
Follow the tour HERE for special content and a giveaway!
Giveaway#1

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway #2

https://gleam.io/sQQun/susan-mccauley

Fiona

I am Fee, a 30 -something SAHM bookworm! I love to read, and will read almost anything and everything. I am not afraid to try new genres of books and my main genre is horror, thriller.

%d bloggers like this: