#Review On Borrowed Crime: A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery by Kate Young

#OnTour with #GreatEscapesBookTours
#Review On Borrowed Crime: A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery by Kate Young
#giveaway #cozymystery 

On Borrowed Crime: A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery
by Kate Young

About On Borrowed Time


On Borrowed Crime: A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books (October 6, 2020)
Hardcover
ISBN-10: 1643854623
ISBN-13: 978-1643854625
Digital ASIN: B083RZ3ZRR


A shoe-in read for fans of Ellery Adams and Kate Carlisle, On Borrowed Crime is the first in Kate Young’s new Georgia-set, sweet tea filled, Jane Doe Book Club mysteries.

The Jane Doe book club enjoys guessing whodunit, but when murder happens in their midst, they discover solving crimes isn’t fun and games…

Lyla Moody loves her sleepy little town of Sweet Mountain, Georgia. She likes her job as receptionist for her uncle’s private investigative firm, her fellow true crime obsessed Jane Doe members are the friends she’s always wanted, and her parents just celebrated their fiftieth wedding anniversary. But recently, with her best friend Melanie on vacation, and her ex-boyfriend and horrible cousin becoming an item and moving in next door to her, her idyllic life is on the fritz. The cherry on top of it all is finding Carol, a member of the club, dead and shoved into a suitcase, left at Lyla’s front door.

Unusual circumstances notwithstanding, with Carol’s heart condition, the coroner rules Carol’s death undetermined. But when they discover the suitcase belongs to Melanie, who had returned from her vacation the following morning, Sweet Mountain police begin to suspect Lyla’s best friend. Determined that police are following the wrong trail, to clear her friend’s name, and to not allow Carol become one of the club’s studied cold cases, Lyla begins to seek out the real killer. That is, until she becomes the one sought after. Now, finding the truth could turn her into the killer’s next plot twist, unless she wins the game of cat and mouse.

Purchase Links –
AmazonB&NKoboIndieBound

REVIEW

On Borrowed Crime is the 1st in the Jane Doe Book Club Mystery series by Kate Young and it was quite an enjoyable read. Lyla works as a receptionist for her uncle’s private investigative firm, runs the Jane Doe Book Club and has a strange obsession with murder mysteries. Lyla soon discovers that working for a PI will have its uses when a member of her book club turns up on her doorstep dead and stuffed in a suitcfase! I mean – what the heck! Imagine discovering that on your doorstep. But when the suitcase turns out to belong to Lyla’s best friend she puts her sleuthing skills to the test to prove her friends innocence and find the real culprit.

Set in Georgia I got a real feel of this Southern state, I loved the characters and all the twists and turns that had me guessing right up to the end! I thought I had it figured out but then I would be thrown off into an other direction, this was a great first book in what I think will be a great little southern series.

4 stars

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Kate Young

Kate Young writes southern mystery novels. She is a member of Sisters in Crime and the Guppy Chapter. Kate lives in a small town in Georgia with her husband, three kids, and Shih Tzus. When she is not writing her own books, she’s reading or cooking.

Author Links

Website- https://www.kateyoungbooks.com
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKateYoung/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/kayoungbooks
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/kateyoungbooks/
Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6527572.Kate_Young

 

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

October 5 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
October 5 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW
October 5 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW
October 6 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
October 6 – Thoughts in Progress – SPOTLIGHT
October 6 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
October 7 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW
October 7 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
October 7 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
October 8 – Read Your Writes Book Reviews – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
October 8 – Hearts & Scribbles – SPOTLIGHT
October 8 – Elizabeth McKenna Author Blog – SPOTLIGHT
October 9 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW
October 9 – Angel’s Guilty Pleasures – SPOTLIGHT
October 9 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
October 10 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – REVIEW
October 10 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW
October 10 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW
October 11 – Nadaness In Motion – REVIEW/SPOTLIGHT
October 11 – eBook Addicts – REVIEW
October 11 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
October 12 – I Read What You Write – SPOTLIGHT
October 12 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT
October 12 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW

 

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!


Fiona

I am Fee, a 30 -something SAHM bookworm! I love to read, and will read almost anything and everything. I am not afraid to try new genres of books and my main genre is horror, thriller.

One thought on “#Review On Borrowed Crime: A Jane Doe Book Club Mystery by Kate Young

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: