#Review The Fallout by Rebecca Thornton

#OnTour with #RandomThingsTours
#Review The Fallout by Rebecca Thornton
#thefallout @RThorntonwriter @HarperFiction

The Fallout
by Rebecca Thornton
Publisher: HarperFiction

At the school gates, there’s no such thing as yesterday’s news . . .

When Liza’s little boy has an accident at the local health club, it’s all anyone can talk about.
Was nobody watching him?
Where was his mother?
Who’s to blame?

The rumours, the finger-pointing, the whispers – they’re everywhere. And Liza’s best friend, Sarah, desperately needs it to stop.
Because Sarah was there when it happened. It was all her fault. And if she’s caught out on the lie, everything will fall apart.

‘Secrets, lies, suspicion and betrayal: THE FALLOUT has it all – and then someT M Logan, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Holiday

Purchase

REVIEW

Playground politics, WhatsApp groups and lies tie this story together.

Sarah and Liza are at the prestigious new gym in town having a catch up and coffee whilst their boys play in the children’s playground, Liza is slightly frazzled with her baby daughter and when Sarah goes to get more coffees she asks her to check in Jack outside for her.

Only Sarah gets sidetracked running into a mum who she met at classes but who seemed to disappear, and Jack has bad fall leaving him with and touch and go injuries.

We can see that Sarah is trying not lie to her friend about checking on Jack, and we all know that the truth is going to go come out to Liza, but appears that they both are holding secrets from each other and their friendship is built on lies.

If you have school age children there is no denying that these playground mums exist like they are portrayed in this book, making this story real, also what is going on with Sarah and Liza’s life are real and potentially relatable situations to some.

I really enjoyed this book though it drag on just a little longer than i felt it should I connected with Liza more than Sarah and felt some of her actions were questionable at best but then who truly knows how they would react in those situations.

~~~~~~~~~~~

‘A fizzing, unputdownable, gripping read’ Elizabeth Day, author of The Party

‘The perfect page-turner’ Sunday Times bestseller, Susan Lewis

‘Absolutely compulsive, I couldn’t put it down. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and The Slap.’ Suzy K Quinn, Kindle bestselling author of The Bad Mother’s Diary

About the Author

Rebecca Thornton is an alumna of the Faber Academy Writing A Novel course, where she was tutored by Esther Freud and Tim Lott. Her writing has been published in The Guardian, You Magazine, Daily Mail, Prospect Magazine and The Sunday People amongst others. She has reported from the Middle East, Kosovo and the UK. She now lives in West London with her husband and two children. The Fallout is her third novel.

Fiona

I am Fee, a 30 -something SAHM bookworm! I love to read, and will read almost anything and everything. I am not afraid to try new genres of books and my main genre is horror, thriller.

One thought on “#Review The Fallout by Rebecca Thornton

  • April 13, 2020 at 2:06 pm
    Permalink

    Thanks so much for the blog tour support xx

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: