[Review] The Hunting Party Lucy Foley

The Hunting Party Book Cover The Hunting Party
Lucy Foley
Mystery & Thriller
HarperCollins
December 3rd 2018
e-book
400
netgalley

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

In a remote hunting lodge, deep in the Scottish wilderness, old friends gather for New Year.

The beautiful one
The golden couple
The volatile one
The new parents
The quiet one
The city boy
The outsider

The victim.

Not an accident – a murder among friends.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

 

#review The Hunting Party by @lucyfoleytweets
#TheHuntingParty #NetGalley #5stars

thehuntingpartycover

Purchase Links:
Kindle | Amazon | Audiobook

 

I re-read this whilst on holiday in the Highlands and loved it just as much second time around.

Seven friends – three couples and one singleton, travel to the Scottish Highlands to spend New Year’s Eve in a hunting lodge. And during the trip one of them winds up dead, but who and why isn’t revealed until towards the end.

This was an enjoyable and fun mystery that’s fast-paced and easy to read. The narrative switched between Doug the game keeper who is harbouring a secret, the lodge manger Heather who is hiding from a tragedy and of course the pretentious characters. It also flits from the past and present to give you the back story of the friends and also sow the seed as to who-dunnit.

Great premise, great stetting and the just right mix of pretentious characters that you will love to hate, and honestly I was glad when one of them ended up dead! But in a good way!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About the Author:

I live in London, but love traveling – both in real life and on the page (hence the appearance of some far flung locations in my writing).
My latest novel is The Invitation – set in the film world of the 1950s, along the Italian Riviera.
My debut novel, The Book of Lost & Found, published in early 2015.

**I would like to thank NetGalley  for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.**

Fiona

I am Fee, a 30 -something SAHM bookworm! I love to read, and will read almost anything and everything. I am not afraid to try new genres of books and my main genre is horror, thriller.

%d bloggers like this: