#Review Mummy Needs Help by Susan Edmunds

#OnTour with #RandomThingsTours
#Review Mummy Needs Help by Susan Edmunds
#MummyNeedsHelp @0neMoreChapter_ @susanedmunds

 

 

Mummy Needs Help
by Susan Edmunds
Publisher: One More Chapter

BLURB 

Can you go mad from sleep deprivation? Will my mother ever leave? Will the baby sleep through the night before she turns twenty-one?

Renee is struggling to get to grips with having a totally dependent new-born. Luckily for her there is a Facebook group of new mums who welcome her with open arms and assurances that she might sleep again … one day.

Whilst Renee finds a safe space for questions and confessions, all hubby Nick can see is how easily she seems to be adapting to parenthood: a world in which he still feels adrift. Work is beginning to be the place he feels most at home.

As her daughter reaches the age where she can finally have a solo shower, Renee realises it’s been months since she’s had a baby-free discussion with Nick, let alone a date night. The question remains: will their marriage survive the storm?

Mummy Needs Help is an unmissable novel about the hardships and hysterics of parenthood, perfect for fans of Gill Simms and Suzy K Quinn.

Amazon:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mummy-Needs-Help-Susan-Edmunds-ebook/dp/B07VVGMC7P

REVIEW

Mummy Needs Helps is relatable, funny and took me back to the early days of motherhood with my first child.

Told from the duel perspectives of Renee and Nick as they navigate the first year of parenthood filled with sleepless nights, relationship disconnection and a Facebook group that seems to be Renee’s only solace in the world. I liked how each perspective was told in a month-by-month account the year following Holly’s birth.

The story touches on post natal depression which really hit home for me, I connected so much with Renee in many aspects that Susan Edmunds has done a great job at depicting the obstables that new parents face and I think a lot of mothers reading this will connect with Renee. 

This book was a lighthearted look at early parenthood written in a very relatable and realistic way, it highlights the fact that yes mummy needs help, but also so do the dads – especially when the mother is breastfeeding and co-sleeping it can leave the father feeling a little helpless – there were times I wanted to shake up Nick – but he was a typical guy.

I really enjoyed this book and give it 5 stars

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 

Susan Edmunds is a business journalist by day and a fiction scribbler by night. She lives in Whangarei, New Zealand. Most of her non-work writing relates to motherhood and the crazy experience of being left to take care of a child when you have no real idea what you’re doing. When she gets the chance at some time off, she spends time with her children, exercises and tries to tackle her sleep deficit.

 

Author Page on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/susanedmundsauthor/

Twitter @susanedmunds

 

 

 

 

Fiona

I am Fee, a 30 -something SAHM bookworm! I love to read, and will read almost anything and everything. I am not afraid to try new genres of books and my main genre is horror, thriller.

One thought on “#Review Mummy Needs Help by Susan Edmunds

  • April 13, 2020 at 3:22 pm
    Permalink

    Thanks so much for the blog tour support x

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: