#Review The House Mate by Nina Manning

#OnTour with #RachelsRandomResources
#Review The House Mate by Nina Manning
@rararesources @ninamanning78 @BoldwoodBooks
#boldwoodbloggers

 

The House Mate
by Nina Manning

The perfect life? …Or the perfect lie?

When Regi moves into her new house share, she’s ready for a clean slate. A new home. A new routine. A new identity…

Desperate to escape the shadow of her past that follows her everywhere she goes, Regi finds the ideal distraction in the perfect lives of others on social media.

But as innocent scrolling turns into an unhealthy obsession, Regi will soon learn that seeking perfection comes at a price…

A gripping psychological suspense from the international bestselling author of The Daughter In Law. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, K L Slater and Jackie Kabler.

Purchase Link –
#ad

REVIEW

Regi -Regina – is 35 years old and finds herself moving into a shared house starting her life with a clean slate. She has OCD and has her little behaviours that she must do in order to go about her daily life. Her housemates ‘tolerate’ her OCD and when Mini introduces her to the world of cleanstagrams on Instagram this gives Regi something to focus on  and put her OCD to a use within the house. She begins to obsess over Mrs Clean’s account and a troll who seems to just want to put the account owner down all the time, I found this pretty prevalent  in terms of the top cleanstagramer that is currently taking Instagram by storm and it reminded me of her and her trolls on her account. 

The choice of using the chapter headings THEN and NOW gives you a look into her life and that fact that she is hiding from someone in her past, that is until you reach the end chapters and are met with a twist that I never saw coming!

I loved this book it was a very gripping and compelling read but come the end I had no idea what I had just read! I actually had to re-read the last two chapters. Kudos to Manning for creating and writing the book in the way she did, she certainly threw me off kilter on those last few chapters! The choice of using the chapter headings THEN and NOW gives you a look into her life and that fact that she is hiding from someone in her past, that is until you reach the end chapters and are met with a twist that I never saw coming!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Author Bio –

Nina Manning studied psychology and was a restaurant-owner and private chef (including to members of the royal family). She is the founder and co-host of Sniffing The Pages, a book review podcast. Her debut psychological thriller, The Daughter in Law, was a bestseller in the UK, US, Australia and Canada. She lives in Dorset.

Social Media Links –
Newsletter: http://bit.ly/NinaManningNewsletter
Website: https://www.ninamanningauthor.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ninamanningauthor1/
Twitter @ https://twitter.com/ninamanning78
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ninamanning_author/
YouTube: https://youtu.be/6-s3uIGpNUo
Podcast: Podcast: www.anchor.fm/ninamanning
Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/nina-manning

 

 

Fiona

I am Fee, a 30 -something SAHM bookworm! I love to read, and will read almost anything and everything. I am not afraid to try new genres of books and my main genre is horror, thriller.

%d bloggers like this: