[Review Tour] IN Defiance (Ivy Nash Thriller series Book 1)(Redemption Thriller Series 7) by John W Mefford


Author John W. Mefford introduces Ivy Nash in the second series of the Redemption Thriller Collection.

A volatile hostage situation at a foster home reaches a bitter end: shots are fired, some die, some live to tell a sordid tale. In the midst of the anguish and confusion is one child who will bear the scars of this unbelievable turmoil.

As a special investigator for Child Protective Services, Ivy Nash lives by one rule: she’ll do anything to fight for the well-being of children. Anything. Something that was never done for her. As a “system” kid, she spent time in seventeen foster homes. Seventeen.

Very quickly, the facts of the case are blurred…accusations of sibling abuse, connections to drugs. Nothing lines up, and authorities want it all to go away. Their target? A ten-year-old boy. Unrelenting in her pursuit to find the truth, Ivy and her new friend Cristina uncover alarming new information to pinpoint who is at the root of the crime.

But evil knows no boundaries. Shock waves of her most horrific childhood memories erupt into the present, and Ivy knows that she’s in the fight for her life.

Part of the Redemption Thriller Collection which includes the Alex Troutt Thrillers and the upcoming Ivy Nash Thrillers. While all of the novels can be read as a stand-alone, there is a connecting thread in the Redemption Thriller books that will be unveiled over time. For a more fulfilling reading experience, books should be read in order: Alex Troutt, and then Ivy Nash. More series will be added into the collection within the next year.

Available to buy from….
Amazon.com Amazon.co.uk Barnes and Noble iBooks Kobo Paperback

“Rife with deceit and deception and characters that leap off the page, this story is told with confidence through a sure hand, engaging both the mind and the heart. A compelling treat.” — Steve Berry, New York Times Bestselling Author

Books in the Alex Troutt Thriller Series:

AT Bay
AT Large
AT Once
AT Dawn
AT Dusk
AT Last

Books in the Ivy Nash Thriller Series:

IN Defiance

Coming soon….
IN Pursuit
IN Doubt
Break IN
IN Control
IN The End

About the Author
A veteran of the corporate wars, former journalist, and true studier of human and social behavior, best-selling author John W. Mefford has been writing novels since he first entered the work force twenty-five years ago, although he never put words on paper until late 2009.

John writes novels full of intrigue, suspense, and thrills, but they also evoke an emotional connection with the characters.

When he’s not writing, he chases three kids around, slaves away in the yard, reads, takes in as many sports as time allows, watches all sorts of movies, and continues to make mental notes of people and societies across the land.

John lives in Frisco, Texas with his beautiful wife, three opinionated kids, and a feisty fat cat who rules the world.

“Pop on over to my Website, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Goodreads and Amazon Author Page

Join John’s Readers’ Group and receive the first novels in both the Greed and Booker Series

Follow the tour


I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.

I absolutely loved the Alex Troutt series so I could not wait to get started with this new series from John. IN Defiance brings us a new strong female lead in the form of Ivy Nash – she has had an awful upbringing being pushed from pillar to post from one foster home to another , 17 to be exact and now she is a special investigator for Child Protective Services, so she knows all to well what the kids are going through.

When she is called in to help with a hostage situation that goes wrong and only the 10 year old boy knows what really happened she will do anything and everything in her power to protect him and prove her hunch was right. With the help of her detective friend Sam, what they uncover is a web full of lies, deceit and abuse that brings up woulds her past to the surface along with some unwanted attention.

There are several story lines in this one that mingle together and make for a very fast paced read and an unexpected friendship between her and a 17 year old “street” kid named Christine that I can see being a major part of Ivy’s life through the next few books. There are moments towards the end of the book that had me on the edge of my seat and demanding answers, which I hope we get in the next book!

This first book is absolutely brilliant and I can only imagine what is in store next for Ivy with an ending like that!


Win IN Defiance by John W Mefford ebook
3 Winners!!
Ending on Sunday 5th February at 11.59pm CST

Open Worldwide

Enter HERE

Good Luck !!

Are you a book reviewer or book blogger? Join our book tours reviewers team – Apply Here x

Current book tours open for sign ups HERE


I am Fee, a 30 -something SAHM bookworm! I love to read, and will read almost anything and everything. I am not afraid to try new genres of books and my main genre is horror, thriller.

2 thoughts on “[Review Tour] IN Defiance (Ivy Nash Thriller series Book 1)(Redemption Thriller Series 7) by John W Mefford

  • January 26, 2017 at 2:03 pm

    Sounds like a great 1st in series, thanks for sharing your thoughts today xx

    • February 2, 2017 at 11:24 am

      It was a great read, cant wait for more! 🙂

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: